Mission of the CIRRIS

The mission CIRRIS

Contribute to the development and knowledge transfer 
in the field of the rehabilitation and social integration

 
This mission is made possible with research activities studying the personal factors (impairments and disabilities) and the environmental factors (barriers and facilitators) that influence the social participation of persons with disabilities. This research is focussed on interdisciplinary and intersectoral approaches that allow the study of complex issues with an integration of biomedical and social research. 
 
Academic teaching at all university levels is at the very heart of this mission thus contributing to the training of future stakeholders, researchers and clinical researchers in various fields, mostly those in the health sciences and the social sciences. 
 
The transfer of knowledge and expertise of its members along with a strong link with clinical and community settings allow the CIRRIS to support the development of evidence-based practice in these different environments. 
 

The production of new knowledge stems from a research process centered on three final goals and integrates the specific activities of the CIRRIS researchers. These goals all contribute to the mission of developing and disseminating new knowledge. Each research activity is part of one or more of the three purposes and is committed to one of the six research themes, as shown in the graphic below.



 
This conceptualization – based on an approach of hierarchical grading of knowledge – is essential to understand the products of research in the rehabilitation sciences and the social integration field. 
 

1) The understanding mechanisms, phenomena and needs (purpose 1).

Many CIRRIS researchers strive to better understand:

a.the biological mechanisms that generate disabilities linked to mobility or perception skills (motor control, neuromuscular deficits, pain), language (hemispheric dominance), or cognitive functions (information processing, cognitive impairments).

b. the social phenomena such as inclusive urban development, accessibility obstacles to social integration services or innovative practices to support families. 

This purpose illustrates an essential contribution to basic knowledge in several of the scientific fields of rehabilitation and social integration.

2) The development and validation of measurement tools, interventions or technologies (purpose 2) refers to:
 

a. the development of measures or evaluation procedures in areas such as mobility, social cognition, language, urban transportation or quality of social participation for various populations with disabilities.

b. the development of interventions to improve motor skills, to treat neuropathic pain, to develop innovative practices to support families or to develop behavioural interventions to prevent psychopathologies.

This purpose is achieved by conducting experiments either in laboratories or in restricted environments before introducing or applying the findings to real-life situations (rehabilitation centre or the home environment).

 
3) The evaluation and analysis of practices, policies and programs (purpose 3).

This purpose includes activities such as the assessment of the effects of interventions using assistive devices, the relationship between intervention intensity and rehabilitation outcomes, analysis of the cost-effectiveness of telerehabilitation, the evaluation of the Kangaroo Mother Care Program on the development of premature infants, the testing of decision-making tools for the management of mobility assistive devices. 
 
This phase of research typically involves a rehabilitation setting or an individual’s real-life setting.
 

 

 

CIUSSS-CN Université Laval Alliance santé Québec

Mission du CIRRIS

Photos prises dans les laboratoires du CIRRIS

Contribuer au développement et à la diffusion des connaissances dans le domaine de l’adaptation/réadaptation et du soutien à l’intégration sociale

Cette mission est réalisée par des activités de recherche sur les déterminants personnels (déficiences et incapacités) et environnementaux (obstacles et facilitateurs) qui influencent la participation sociale des personnes ayant des incapacités. Elle est axée sur des approches interdisciplinaires et intersectorielles qui permettent l’étude de problématiques complexes par une intégration de la recherche biomédicale et sociale.
 
L’enseignement aux trois cycles universitaires est au coeur même de cette mission par la formation des futurs intervenants, chercheurs et cliniciens-chercheurs dans divers domaines d’études, principalement ceux des sciences de la santé et des sciences sociales.
 
La diffusion des connaissances et de l’expertise de ses membres ainsi qu’un solide arrimage aux milieux clinique et communautaire lui permettent de soutenir le développement de la pratique basée sur les données probantes dans ces différents milieux. 
 
La production de connaissances issue de la programmation s’inscrit dans trois finalités du processus de recherche selon le type de connaissances générées par les activités spécifiques des chercheurs du CIRRIS. Ces finalités concourent toutes à la mission de développement et de diffusion de connaissance du CIRRIS. Chacune des activités de recherche s’inscrit dans l’une ou l’autre des trois finalités et est arrimée à l’une des six thématiques de recherche, tel que schématisé dans la représentation graphique suivante.
 
Processus de développement des connaissances et objets de recherche au CIRRIS
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Cette conceptualisation, basée sur une approche de hiérarchisation des connaissances, est essentielle pour comprendre les produits de la recherche dans les sciences de la réadaptation et de l’intégration sociale. 
 
1.  La compréhension de mécanismes, phénomènes et besoins (finalité 1)
Plusieurs chercheurs du CIRRIS s’intéressent à la compréhension :
a)  Des mécanismes biologiques qui génèrent les incapacités dans des dimensions telles que la motricité et la perception (contrôle moteur, déficits neuromusculaires, douleur), le langage (dominance hémisphérique) ou les fonctions cognitives (traitement de l’information, trouble cognitif). 
b)  Des phénomènes sociaux tels que le développement urbain inclusif, les obstacles à l’accès aux services de soutien à l’intégration sociale ou les pratiques novatrices de soutien aux familles.
 
Cette finalité illustre un apport essentiel à la connaissance de base dans plusieurs champs des sciences de la réadaptation et de l’intégration sociale. 
 
2.  Le développement et la validation d’outils de mesure, d’interventions ou de technologies (finalité 2) réfère au :
a)  Développement de mesures ou procédures d’évaluation dans des domaines tels que la mobilité, la cognition sociale, le langage, les déplacements urbains ou la qualité de la participation sociale pour diverses populations ayant des incapacités. 
b)  Développement d’interventions reliées à l’amélioration des capacités motrices, au traitement des douleurs neuropathiques, au développement de pratiques novatrices de soutien aux familles ou au développement d’interventions comportementales pour prévenir la psychopathologie.
Cette finalité se caractérise par la réalisation d’expérimentations en laboratoire ou en milieu restreint avant de pouvoir en appliquer ou en généraliser les résultats en milieu réel (centre de réadaptation ou milieu de vie). 
 
3.  L’évaluation et l’analyse de pratiques, programmes ou politiques (finalité 3)
Cette finalité inclut des activités telles que l’évaluation des effets des interventions utilisant les aides techniques, la relation entre l’intensité des interventions et les résultats de la réadaptation, l’analyse coût-efficacité de la téléréadaptation, l’évaluation du programme « Mère Kangourou » sur le développement des enfants prématurés, l’expérimentation d’outils d’aide à la décision pour la gestion des aides à la mobilité.
Cette phase de recherche se réalise généralement en milieu de réadaptation ou en milieu de vie réel de la personne. 

 

CIUSSS-CN Université Laval Alliance santé Québec