Telerehabilitation Laboratory

Delivering in-home telerehabilitation services represents major challenges. The Telerehabilitation Laboratory develops and uses user-friendly, low-cost platforms that provide high quality audiovisual communication between the clinician and the patient in his home. It also offers innovative features due to the integration of an interactive gaming environment combined with remote real-time measuring of biomechanical and physiological parameters. With these remote measures, the clinician receives real-time data on the patient’s physical condition thus allowing him/her to adapt the gaming parameters to suit the patient's needs. This fosters adherence to the exercise program and optimizes the patient's functional gains.

The telerehabilitation laboratory at the CIRRIS was the leading site for a major multicentre clinical trial, the Tel-Age Project (Telerehabilitation following a total knee arthroplasty), a provincial project conducted by CIRRIS researcher, Dr. Helen Moffet, and two co-principal investigators, Dr. Tousignant at the University of Sherbrooke and Dr. Sylvie Nadeau at the University of Montreal.  This project using videoconferencing technology demonstrated that, in 204 people operated for total knee arthroplasty, the remote rehabilitation sessions over the first two months following hospital discharge, was equivalent to the clinical sessions and that the cost was lower than the traditional home follow-up visits. These findings support the implementation of telerehabilitation approaches on a larger scale.
 
The telerehabilitation laboratory is testing a new telerehabilitation platform, the eChez-soi, equipped with integrated measurement tools and a video-game environment that encourages patients to perform the exercises.  These new facilities are currently used in two funded research projects.  Initiatives are underway to identify the needs and the platform’s applicability to various clienteles of the IRDPQ – Institut universitaire de réadaptation. (Quebec Rehabilitation Institute). The current work examines the technical reliability in various contexts (laboratory and in-home) and the validity of the collected data. The perception of the users (patients and stakeholders) is also taken into account to improve the platform and ensure its usefulness in research and clinical settings.
 

 

The eChez-soi platform integrates, through a new software interface, the following three technological features:

 
1- continuous data collection (real time) with commercial biometric sensors (e.g. oximeter, accelerometers) and automatic reading of data collected with other devices (e.g. blood pressure, electronic scale) used by a patient during his/her rehabilitation sessions. These sensors and devices were chosen for their widespread use and proven technology, their portability and their Bluetooth or Wi-Fi communication feature,
 
2- continuous transfer, via Internet, of biometric data collected by the sensors from the user’s computer to the main computer used by the clinician for real-time monitoring of the data,
 
3- a stimulating and flexible gaming environment enabling the patient to perform exercises especially adapted to his/her condition (exercises created by the clinician). The audio-visual communication between the patient and the clinician is supported by the Vidyo Telepresence system. This system was chosen as the videoconferencing web platform because of its ease of installation, safety, quality and stability in a standard network environment.
 

You are invited to contact Dr. Helene Moffet or visit her web page.

CIUSSS-CN Université Laval Alliance santé Québec

Laboratoire de téléréadaptation

L’implantation de la Téléréadaptation à domicile comporte des défis majeurs. Ce laboratoire développe et implémente des plateformes conviviales et économiques qui non seulement assurent une communication audio-visuelle de qualité entre un clinicien et un client à son domicile, mais offre des caractéristiques innovantes grâce à l’intégration d’environnement de jeux interactifs combinés à la mesure, à distance et en temps réel, de paramètres biomécaniques et physiologiques. La mesure à distance procure non seulement au clinicien un suivi instantané de la condition physique de son client mais permet également d’adapter les paramètres de jeux à ses besoins, afin de favoriser son adhérence aux exercices et optimiser ses  gains fonctionnels.

Le laboratoire de téléréadaptation du CIRRIS a été le site responsable d’un essai clinique multicentrique majeur, le projet TelAge (Téléréadaptation à la suite d’une arthroplastie du genou), un projet provincial géré par Dre Hélène Moffet, chercheure au CIRRIS. Dr Tousignant de l’Université de Sherbrooke et Dre Sylvie Nadeau de l’Université de Montréal étaient les deux co-investigateurs principaux. Ce projet utilisant, une technologie par visioconférence, a démontré chez 204 personnes opérées pour une arthroplastie du genou que le suivi de réadaptation offert à distance au cours des deux premiers mois suivant la sortie de l’hôpital, était équivalent au plan clinique et moins coûteux que le suivi usuel par visites à domicile. Ces résultats soutiennent l’implantation d’approches de téléréadaptation à plus large échelle.

Le laboratoire de téléréadaptation teste actuellement une nouvelle plateforme de téléréadaptation, la plateforme eChez-soi, intégrant une prise de mesures intégrées et un environnement de jeux favorisant la réalisation d’exercices. Ces nouveaux équipements sont actuellement utilisés dans deux projets subventionnés. Des initiatives sont en cours pour identifier les besoins et l’applicabilité auprès de diverses clientèles de l’Institut de réadaptation en déficience physique de Québec. Les travaux se poursuivent pour vérifier sa fiabilité technique dans divers contextes (laboratoire et domicile) et la validité des mesures recueillies. La perception des usagers (clients et intervenants) est également prise en compte pour bonifier cette plateforme et assurer son intérêt en recherche et pour les pratiques cliniques.

 

La plateforme eChez-soi intègre par le biais d’une nouvelle interface logicielle les trois aspects technologiques suivants :

1- la prise de données en continu (temps réel) de senseurs biométriques commerciaux (par ex. oxymètre, accéléromètres) et la lecture automatique de données en provenance d’autres appareils (par ex. pression artérielle, balance électronique) utilisés par un patient lors de ses séances de réadaptation. Ces senseurs et appareils ont été choisis en raison de leur large utilisation et leur technologie éprouvée, leur portabilité et la disponibilité de la communication Bluetooth ou Wi-Fi,

2- le transfert en continu via Internet des données biométriques récoltées par les senseurs sur le poste client vers l’ordinateur principal du poste clinicien pour une visualisation en temps réel de ces données par le clinicien,

3- un environnement de jeux stimulant et flexible permettant au client d’effectuer des exercices adaptés à sa condition (exercices qui auront été créés par le clinicien). La communication audio-visuelle entre le client et le clinicien est quant à elle prise en charge par la solution de téléprésence Vidyo. Cette solution a été retenue comme plateforme Web de vidéoconférence pour sa facilité de déploiement, sa sécurité, sa qualité et sa stabilité dans un environnement réseau standard.

 

Nous vous invitons à communiquer avec la chercheure responsable de ce laboratoire, la Dre. Hélène Moffet.

CIUSSS-CN Université Laval Alliance santé Québec